Here we go! (1/49)

Welcome to Blogathon 2009! I’ll be making a post every half hour for 24 hours to benefit the Guide Dog Foundation for the Blind, Inc. (GDF), where I received my guide dog. Please feel free to come along on this journey! Comments and moral support are quite welcome, especially once we hit the wee hours of the night.

I’m here at Local 50 (my house), with the other member of Bloggers Union Local 50, Eustacia Vye (obviously not her real name). She will be blogging on behalf of Medical Students for Choice. Rumor has it she gets pretty whacked-out by 3 am, so stay tuned!

Most of my Blogathon posts this year will be guide dog-related, with occasional exceptions. (There’s a Red Sox game on tonight, what can I say?) Please note that I am not an expert on guide dogs other than my own. I am a first-time guide dog handler, and have been with Ms. Pup for four years. There are people who have been working guide dogs for 30 and 40 years who have forgotten more than I’ll ever know about them. Also, different guide dog schools have different philosophies, and I’ve only been to the one, so that’s what I know. I do not represent GDF in these posts, and they do not endorse anything I say. Ms. Pup is my first animal of any kind, so I’m not even an expert on dogs in general, unless you count “I’ve read a lot of books” as being an expert, which I don’t.

As of right now, with your help I’ve already raised $920.34. Can you believe it? Let’s try for $1000! If you’d like to sponsor me, here’s the place to make your pledge! Thank you so much!

Post #: 1/49
Total so far: $920.34
Make that total higher! Do it for the puppies!

Tags:

One Response to “Here we go! (1/49)”

  1. meredith Says:

    Whoa girl, you have raised a LOT! You’re the only friend I have who’s participating so you KNOW I’ll be with you the whole way through!

Leave a Reply

